Seed Sharing, February 2024

The biggest event of the year for Delectation of Tomatoes: Ogden Seed Exchange

There were about 750 participants this year! Crowded, lots of fun, lots of good people, very encouraging to see so many people interested in gardening!

I also offered seeds at Liberty Heights Fresh Market near downtown Salt Lake City for a few hours – a fabulous small market, not to be missed if you’re ever in the area!

Also had a display at a farm workshop in Moab, with seed packets now on offer at Moonflower Community Cooperative – another not-to miss place! A bit of trivia: the average age of a farmer in Utah is 65 years old! (I will spare you the essay that comes to mind…)

I am so grateful and encouraged by all the people, around the world, requesting seeds of some of the 3,000+ varieties of tomatoes that I have in stock! (and others…) I just wish I could figure out a way to keep up! I have had some hired help, but time management remains a significant challenge. (I will spare you photos of the stack of dirty dishes, etc…)

A few scenic photos included here, a brief travel log of sorts. Occasionally there is more on my mind than tomatoes and seeds — but not often; not this time of year. If I worked a “regular” job (just 40-60 hours per week), I would be doing a lot more exploring and hiking.

A couple of links to some locations shown in the photo gallery:

Patmos Head, 9,841′

Mount Elliott, 7,142′

Arches National Park

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.